top of page

Bounding into the New Year

Happy 2019 everyone! This year is off to a great start and I am so excited to experience the next 14 months to the fullest! Usually in January I am starting from ground zero. I tend to fall into my hibernation mode in the winter and it can be really hard for me to get motivated to hit the ground running in the New Year. Well, this year is different! I made a commitment to myself that I was not going to waste the hard work I put into 2018 – but rather, take my accomplishments and growth, and use them as my base for my 2019 training; treating this year as a continuation of 2018, as opposed to a new year.

2018 Goal Recap

In 2018 I established goals for myself that were lofty, but achievable. My first goal was to place first in the Portland Shamrock Run 15k (I’ve placed 2nd-5th the last 5 years). As January and February progressed, my major goals changed – I wanted to run shorter distances and get faster. Because of this goal shift, I switched to the 5k, where I placed second and achieved a road 5k PR. Although I didn’t achieve my original goal, this accomplishment left me with confidence for races later in the season.

My second goal was to place Top 5 in the Oiselle Tenacious Ten 10k. Based on the results of previous years and my current 10k PR, this was not going to be easy. I worked with my coach – making this my goal race of the Spring, and ended up having a fantastic race – placing 4th overall with a new 10k PR!

My third goal was to break 1:18 in the half marathon. Having run 2:44 in the marathon, I felt that I was due for a PR in the half (1:18.46 was the time to beat). I saved this race for the end of the year so I could keep my focus on shorter races/speed in the first half of the year, and this strategy really worked out. I ran two half marathons, breaking 1:17.05 in both.

My last goal was to break 4:50 mile on the track. This was probably the loftiest goal of all. I had no idea if this is something my body could do or if it would even be possible with my training and race schedule. Well, the stars aligned, and the Rose City Track Club decided to put on a mile race in the middle of summer. The timing was perfect. I ran exactly 4:50 – breaking my college PR by 9 seconds (from 9 years ago). I was ecstatic!

Moving on to 2019…

I’ve spent the last 2 weeks thinking about my 2019 goals – and honestly, I’m a little scared. I want to be ambitious and lofty – potentially setting myself up for failure, but I know in the end that I always see the half is glass-full side of situations, and no matter what happens, I will know that I tried my hardest without limiting myself. With that – here are my goals for 2019!

  1. Break 2:37 at the Boston Marathon (Olympic Trails ‘A’ qualifier)

  2. Break 1:15 in the Half Marathon

  3. Break 4:45 in the Mile

  4. Increase my average weekly mileage to 65-70 miles/week by the end of 2019

I am already 2 weeks into my Boston training and I am feeling confident that this marathon cycle will be my best one yet. Here’s to lofty goals, breaking barriers, and strong minds – let’s get the job done!

Photo Credit: Julia Hailey (@ratherpuckish)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page