top of page

The Craziness of Running

I was out on my lunch run today and I was thinking to myself, how is it possible that I can feel amazing on runs some days and absolutely horrible on my runs other days? And yet, even when I have a horrible run, I return to running the next day as if it never happened. How does running do that to us?! I think what I have broken it down to is, just because I have a 'horrible' run doesn't mean it didn't have a positive effect on me that day. Maybe I felt slow or sluggish, low on blood sugar, tired, thirsty, hungry, hurt, or maybe I just downright didn't feel like being "in" my run at that moment, but somehow, no matter the feeling, when I was done with my run I just felt better. I've never finished a run feeling worse off than when I started it, and maybe that's what makes running so great...and at the same time, so addictive. Can you honestly say you would give up something that resulted in a net positive feeling every day, even if in that moment it didn't feel that way? I guess it's just another chapter in the craziness of running...


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page